Hajo Boomgaarden

Hajo Boomgaarden is the Project Coordinator of OPTED. He is Professor of Methods in the Social Sciences with a focus on Text Analysis at the Department of Communication at the University of Vienna. His research focuses on various aspects of computational communication science with a substantial focus on political communication and migration.

Andrew Aiton

Andrew is the Data Visualisation Manager at the Scottish Parliament Information Centre (SPICe), Parliament’s impartial research and information service. The data visualisation team is responsible for producing visualisations for SPICe and the parliament’s Committees. He is also leading on the Parliament’s scrutiny-focused data science project, which is looking at how we can better collect, store, manage and use parliamentary data.

Franciska de Jong

Franciska de Jong was Executive Director of CLARIN from 2015 until 2022. She is now a Senior Advisor for CLARIN, leading the work package of the Horizon Europe project EOSC Focus on the sustainability of the European Science Cloud. Her main research interests are spoken document retrieval, text mining, access technology for digital libraries, interview archives and cultural heritage collections, as well as e-research in general.

Tobias Dienlin

Tobias Dienlin is Assistant Professor for Interactive Communication at the University of Vienna. His main research interests include privacy and well-being, both with a focus on social media. He also works on questions related to Open Science.

Rory Fitzgerald

Rory Fitzgerald is Professor of Practice in Survey Research at City, University of London. He is the Director of the European Social Survey and helped to establish it as a European Research Infrastructure Consortium, with now 27 members.

Nik Hynek

Nik Hynek is a social scientist and Professor at the Metropolitan University Prague and the Charles University in Prague. He is Head of Research at the Central European Digital Media Observatory.

Jan Nikola Beyer

Jan Nikola Beyer is Research Coordinator at Democracy Reporting International. He monitors and analyses political discourse, as well as the use of technology and digital tools for disinformation. He holds a PhD from the Université libre de Bruxelles (ULB) and the University of Geneva (UNIGE).

Moritz Laurer

Moritz Laurer is an Associate Researcher in the GRID unit (Global Governance, Regulation, Innovation, Digital Economy) at the Centre for European Policy Studies. He co-organises the European Policy Data Science Network, a network of data-driven researchers in leading think tanks and civil society organisations. He is a PhD candidate at the VU Amsterdam, focussing on supervised machine learning for political text analysis.

Artur Lipiński

Artur Lipiński is Professor of Political Theory at the Department of Political Science at the Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznan, Poland. His main research interests are focused on right wing politics in Poland, discourse analysis and populist political communication.

Andreas Marquet

Andreas Marquet is Chief Digital Officer (CDO) and Head of the Infrastructures and Digital Policy Issues Unit at the Archive of Social Democracy at the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung. His research focuses on labour movements, exile studies, digital transformation, digital data preservation and digital humanities. He leads the international project Labour's Memory, which digitises annual and financial reports of blue-collar worker unions from 1880 to 2020.

Pawel Matuszewski

Pawel Matuszewski is Associate Professor at the Institute of Sociology at the Collegium Citivas in Warsaw. His research focuses on digital sociology, social media, computational social science and analytical sociology.

Václav Moravec

Václav Moravec works at the Institute of Communication Studies and Journalism at the Charles University in Prague and the Department of Production at FAMU in Prague. He is the Lead Coordinator of the Central European Digital Media Observatory.

Susana Salgado

Susana Salgado is Principal Researcher at the Institute of Social Sciences at the University of Lisbon. Her research topics include populism, online hate, polarisation, disinformation, political communication and comparative media studies. Her recent work includes different comparative projects on Europe, Portugal and Brazil, but also an extensive analysis of the role of the media in African democratisation processes. 

Stuart Soroka

Stuart Soroka is Professor at the Departments of Communication and Political Science at the University of California in Los Angeles. His research focuses on political communication, political psychology and the relationship between public policy, public opinion and the mass media. He developed, for example, the widely-used Lexicoder Sentiment Dictionary together with Lori Young.

Simon Hofer

Simon Hofer studied Political Science at the University of Innsbruck. He joined the Austrian Parliamentary Administration in 2021 where he is a coordinator for the development and expansion of the Open Data offer and contributes to the Parliamentary Administration’s Data Governance process.

Christoph Konrath

Christoph Konrath is a legal and political scientist. He is the head of the Department of Research and Support in the Legal, Legislative and Research Service of the Austrian Parliament and one of the coordinators of the European Centre of Parliamentary Research and Documentation (ECPRD). His research focuses on parliamentarism and constitutionalism, and he is an editor of the Austrian Journal of Political Research and the International Journal of Parliamentary Studies.

Eike Mark Rinke

Eike Mark Rinke is lecturer in Politics and Media at the University of Leeds. He specialises in the empirical and normative study of political communication on both the individual and societal level. He is active in the meta-research and open science movement and is the University of Leeds' Local Network Lead for the UK Reproducibility Network (UKRN), a national peer-led consortium that aims to ensure the UK retains its place as a centre for world-leading research.

Gerrit Voerman

Gerrit Voerman is Professor of Development and functioning of the Dutch and European party system. He is an expert on (the history of) Dutch political parties and is regularly asked to comment on elections and developments within parties. Voerman has headed the Documentation Centre for Dutch Political Parties (DNPP) of the University of Groningen since 1989.

Katja Mayer

Katja Mayer is a sociologist and works at the interface of science, technology and society. Since 2019, she is working as senior postdoc with the Elise Richter Fellowship (FWF) at the Department of Science and Technology Studies at the University of Vienna. Her research focuses on the interaction between social science methods and their public spheres, specifically on the cultural, ethical and socio-technical challenges at the interface of computer science, social sciences and society.